Keep Going

By: rubyslippahs

May 19 2022

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Last summer and fall were brutal. These were my favorite shoes at one point. Many miles ago. I didn’t notice how beaten up my shoes were until I took them off one night at the campground. I used to sit up at the bathhouse to charge devices. Just spent most evenings up there.

But I took them off one night and realized… Wow. I’ve walked a lot of very painful miles in these shoes. I challenge anyone to walk just a mile in them.

Between my blue hoodie and the yellow shoes, it just felt like a message to keep going.

When I made this ribbon in July 2020, I didn’t think it would go anywhere. Just a little Facebook group. Blue was for code blue. It’s what hospitals used to use as an overhead page for cardiac arrest. Yellow for hope.

Blue and yellow COVID long-hauler ribbon

Last summer, we lit up New York City, Minneapolis, and even Niagara falls blue and yellow. Blue now stands for COVID long-haulers, and yellow for those we’ve lost.

So, I want this picture framed. A reminder to keep going.

Leave a comment